The Society for Vascular Medicine announces new leadership and award winners


The Society for Vascular Medicine (SVM) held its 30th Annual Scientific Sessions in McLean, USA earlier this month and announced its new leadership as well as presented its annual awards.

Raghu Kolluri of OhioHealth Heart & Vascular (Columbus, USA) was elected president for the 2019–2021 term. He succeeds Heather Gornik of University Hospitals Harrington Heart & Vascular Institute (Cleveland, USA). Herbert D Aronow of Lifespan Cardiovascular Institute takes over as president-elect. Elizabeth V Ratchford of Johns Hopkins is the new secretary and Ido Weinberg of Massachusetts General Hospital was elected treasurer.

Below is a full list of the 2019 SVM award winners. The Jess R Young Outstanding Vascular Medicine Educator Award is conferred upon individuals who have made an exemplary contribution to the field of vascular medicine through the education of its practitioners. The Master of the Society for Vascular Medicine (MSVM) designation is conferred upon individuals who have provided extraordinary service to the Society for Vascular Medicine. The Mark A Creager Prize recognises the authors of the most meritorious research article published in Vascular Medicine during the preceding calendar year. In addition to these awards the Jay D Coffman Young Investigator oral abstract sessions were held and the first place winner was selected from among five finalists.

Jess R Young Outstanding Vascular Medicine Educator Award:

Joshua A Beckman, Vanderbilt University Medical Center, Nashville, USA

Master of the Society for Vascular Medicine:

Maria Teresa B Abola, Philippine Heart Center, Quezon City, Philippines

Diane J Treat-Jacobson, University of Minnesota, Minneapolis, USA

2019 SVM Mark A Creager Prize for Research Excellence

Klaas Frederik Franzen; Johannes Willig; Silja Cayo Talavera; Moritz Meusel; Friedhelm Sayk; Michael Reppel, Prof; Klaus Dalhoff, Prof; Kai Mortensen; Daniel Droemann

E-cigarettes and Cigarettes Worsen Peripheral and Central Hemodynamics as well as Arterial Stiffness: A Randomized, Double-Blinded Pilot Study

Manuscript published in Vascular Medicine: Volume 23, October, 2018.

Jay D Coffman Young Investigator Awards

First place:

Raymundo A Quintana, Division of Cardiology, Emory University School of Medicine, Atlanta, USA

PPARgamma Coactivator 1-alpha Deletion Unpregulates Catalase Expression in the Arterial Wall Preventing Atherosclerosis Formation

Alan T Hirsch SVM Travel Awards:

Elizabeth Ann Choma, University of Minnesota, Minneapolis, USA

Alexandra Moran, Vanderbilt University, Nashville, USA


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here