Nominees announced for 2011 Pioneers in Performance Awards for Europe



Gore announced on 11 April 2011 the nominees and opening of voting for the 2011 Pioneers in Performance Awards for Europe. Each year, a distinguished group of Europe-based physicians are honored with the Pioneers in Performance Awards sponsored by Gore. A full list of this year’s nominees is available on the ballot at

These physicians have been nominated by their peers for their unrelenting dedication to advancing vascular and endovascular therapy and minimally invasive treatment options for patients worldwide, including aortic and lower-limb bypass and dialysis access surgery.


The academy of past recipients of the Pioneers in Performance in Europe selected nominees, but honorees will be chosen by ballot. Voting is now open to the medical community and is available via the online site and at Gore pavilions at major clinical conferences throughout the year. Voting closes 31 January 2012 and ballots are kept confidential. Final winners will be honored in a special reception in April 2012.


The academy of past recipients selected nominees across four major categories that reflect a strong and ongoing commitment to improving clinical and patient performance through collaboration. Nominees have demonstrated collaboration as it relates to improving patient and clinical performance: a commitment to ongoing learning, dedication to sharing knowledge with peers and patients, dedication to creating consensus within the medical community, and a dedication to analysis of outcomes.


“We congratulate all of the nominees for their active global collaboration driving the advancement of clinical and patient outcomes,” said David Abeyta, Business Leader, Gore. “We have chosen to underwrite the Pioneers in Performance Awards programme because performance through collaboration is a core value shared by Gore. The work of all of the nominees is truly inspiring and we look forward to learning who the medical community chooses to honor this year.”