Nominees announced for 2016–2017 Pioneers in Performance Awards for Latin America


WL Gore

The nominees and opening of voting for 2016-2017 Pioneers in Performance Awards for Latin America has been announced at the Congreso Internacional Cirugia Endovascular 2016 (CICE) Symposium (13–16 April, São Paulo, Brazil).

Each year, distinguished physicians are honoured with the Pioneers in Performance Awards sponsored by Gore. These physicians are nominated by their peers for their dedication to advancing vascular and endovascular therapy and minimally invasive treatment options for patients worldwide, including aortic and lower-limb bypass and dialysis access surgery. This year’s nominees can be viewed here.

The academy of past Pioneers in Performance recipients selected the nominees; the 2016–2017 honourees will be chosen by ballot. Voting is now open to the medical community and is available via the online site and at Gore pavilions at major clinical conferences throughout the year. Voting will close in February 2017 and ballots are kept confidential. Final winners will be honoured during the 2017 CICE Symposium.

The academy of past recipients selects nominees across four major categories that reflect a strong and ongoing commitment to improving clinical and patient performance through collaboration. Nominees have demonstrated collaboration as it relates to improving patient and clinical performance: a commitment to ongoing learning, dedication to sharing knowledge with peers and patients, dedication to creating consensus within the medical community, and a dedication to analysis of outcomes.

“The 2017 Pioneers in Performance for Latin America nominees have shown dedication to their patients and their field by driving medical innovation and improving clinical outcomes. We consider it an honour to have the opportunity to thank them for their hard work and congratulate them on this well-deserved recognition,” says Ryan Takeuchi, Aortic Business Unit Leader, Gore.