Gore’s Pioneers in Performance USA winners honoured at the VEITHsymposium


On 16 November, Gore announced the honorees of the 2011-2012 Pioneers in Performance Awards for the USA. The award acknowledges exceptional work in the field of vascular and endovascular therapy, including aortic and lower-limb bypass and dialysis access surgery. 

Gore stated: “These physicians and innovators were recognised by the medical community for their unrelenting dedication to advancing vascular and endovascular therapy and the advancement of minimally invasive treatment options. The work performed by these individuals has expanded therapeutic options for at-risk patients.

A celebration was held in honor of the “Pioneers in Performance” during the VEITHsymposium (New York, USA, November 14–18). The honorees recognised included:

Commitment to ongoing learning:

  • K Wayne Johnston, R Fraser Elliott chair in Vascular Surgery and professor of Surgery at the University of Toronto, Toronto, Canada

Dedication to sharing knowledge with peers and patients:

  • William Pearce, professor of Vascular Surgery at the Feinberg School of Medicine at Northwestern University, Chicago, USA 

Dedication to creating consensus within the medical community:

  • Alan Lumsden, medical director, Methodist DeBakey Heart and Vascular Center, Houston, USA

Dedication to analysis of clinical outcomes:

  • Krishna Rocha-Singh, director of the Prairie Vascular Institute and Medical Director of the Prairie Education & Research Cooperative, Springfield, USA

“We congratulate this year’s honorees and are proud to recognise them as true pioneers in performance,” said Ryan Takeuchi, Gore Aortic Business Leader. “Their continued dedication to advancing vascular care empowers and inspires Gore to work to continually pursue new, innovative technologies that help physicians achieve better patient outcomes that improve patients’ lives.”

As part of the awards programme, Gore also commemorated the 20th anniversary of the first Endovascular Aortic Repair (EVAR) in North America by gathering together and recognising those who participated in the pioneering medical milestone.