Gore joins vascular and endovascular leaders in recognising the 2016 Pioneers in Performance for North America


Gore joined with leaders across the vascular and endovascular community in honouring five North American physicians as Pioneers in Performance. The biennial awards programme acknowledges exceptional work in the field of vascular and endovascular therapy, including aortic and lower limb bypass and dialysis access surgery.

The 2016 nominees were selected by past award recipients in four categories that correspond with different aspects of clinical collaboration. Through popular vote on www.pioneersinperformance.com, the broader medical community chose to award the following honourees at a special celebration at the VEITHsymposium held in New York (15–19 November 2016).

“Since its inception, the Pioneers in Performance awards programme has united the global vascular therapy communities in celebration of physicians who demonstrate unwavering commitment to improving clinical and patient performance through active industry collaboration,” said Ryan Takeuchi, Gore Aortic Business Leader. “It was an honour to witness the celebration of this year’s honourees, and to experience once again, in person, the unity and respect that the Pioneers in Performance programme generates.”


The 2016 Pioneers in Performance are:


Dedication to Sharing Knowledge with Peers and Patients

Heather L Gornik, associate director, Vascular Trials, Cleveland Clinic, Cleveland, USA


Commitment to Ongoing Learning

Douglas E Drachman, director, Cardiovascular Fellowship Program and Interventional Cardiology Fellowship Program, Massachusetts General Hospital, Boston, USA


Dedication to Creating Consensus within the Medical Community

John A Kaufman, director, Dotter Institute, Portland, USA

Mark H Meissner, professor of Surgery, University of Washington, Seattle, USA


Dedication to Analysis of Clinical Outcomes

Benjamin W Starnes, professor of Surgery and chief of the Vascular Surgery Division, University of Washington, Seattle, USA


“The vascular community depends on the collaboration and dedication of its members, and this is a wonderful opportunity for us to honour these distinguished physicians,” said David Abeyta, leader of the Gore Medical Products Division. “This year’s honourees encompass the passion and innovative spirit that our communities rely on, and are truly worthy of this prestigious honor—congratulations to all.”

For more information on the Pioneers in Performance awards program, please visit: http://pioneersinperformance.com/en/na