Gore Joins vascular and endovascular community in honouring 2016 Pioneers in Performance in Europe


WL Gore

Gore has joined with leaders across the vascular and endovascular community in honouring four European physicians as Pioneers in Performance at the 2016 Charing Cross Symposium (26–29 April, London, UK). The biennial award acknowledges exceptional work in the field of vascular and endovascular therapy, including aortic and lower-limb bypass and dialysis access surgery.

Selected by past award recipients in four categories that corresponded with different aspects of clinical collaboration, each winner was selected through popular vote. By submitting for the nominee of their choice, the broader medical community chose to recognise the following 2016 honourees:

Commitment to Ongoing Learning:

  • Amman Bolia, Leicester, UK

Dedication to Sharing Knowledge with Peers and Patients:

  • Jean-Baptiste Ricco, Poitiers, France

Dedication to Creating Consensus within the Medical Community:

  • Hans van Overhagen, The Hague, The Netherlands

Dedication to Analysis of Clinical Outcomes:

  • Martin Malina, Malmo, Sweden

Ross Naylor, a past recipient of the award, noted, “The Pioneers in Performance award programme offers a unique opportunity for the vascular community to recognise its own. The exemplarily individuals receiving this year’s award encompass the true spirit of innovation. Congratulations to all of this year’s honourees.”

“The Pioneers in Performance program brings together physicians from all corners of the globe to recognize their fellow physicians for their unwavering dedication to advancing vascular and endovascular therapy and minimally invasive treatment options for patients worldwide,” said Ryan Takeuchi, Gore Aortic Business Leader. “We congratulate and thank this year’s honourees and nominees for their part in driving the industry forward and enhancing the patient experience.”