Gore 2016 Pioneers in Performance Awards nominees announced


Gore has announced the nominees and opening of voting for the 2016 Pioneers in Performance Awards for North America. The announcement was made at the 2015 VEITHsymposium (17–21 November, New York, USA).

Each year, a distinguished group of physicians are honoured with the Pioneers in Performance Awards. This year’s nominees can be viewed at: http://pioneersinperformance.com/na. These physicians have been nominated by their peers for their unrelenting dedication to advancing vascular and endovascular therapy and minimally invasive treatment options for patients worldwide, including aortic and lower-limb bypass and dialysis access surgery.

The academy of past recipients of the Pioneers in Performance selected the nominees and the 2016 honourees will be chosen by ballot. Voting is now open to the medical community and is available via the online site and at Gore pavilions at major clinical conferences throughout the year. Voting closes in October 2016 and ballots are kept confidential. Final winners will be honoured during a special reception at the November 2016 VEITHsymposium.

The academy of past recipients selected nominees across four major categories that reflect a strong and ongoing commitment to improving clinical and patient performance through collaboration. Nominees have demonstrated collaboration as it relates to improving patient and clinical performance: a commitment to ongoing learning, dedication to sharing knowledge with peers and patients, dedication to creating consensus within the medical community, and a dedication to analysis of outcomes.

“The Pioneers in Performance programme brings together members of the vascular community to honour the inspiring work of their peers across Europe, North America, and Latin America, and this year is no exception as we congratulate the newest nominees,” said Ryan Takeuchi, Gore Aortic Business leader. “All of the nominees have shown an unrelenting dedication when it comes to driving medical innovation and improving clinical and patient outcomes, thus we look forward to finding out who the vascular community will honour.”